Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Online Tax payment: e-tax or e-payment service by TIN NSDL to pay direct taxes.

Procedure for e-payment:

  • Click here to start 
  • To pay taxes online the taxpayer will select the relevant challan i.e. ITNS 280, ITNS 281, ITNS 282 or ITNS 283, as applicable.
  • Enter its PAN / TAN as applicable. There will be an online check on the validity of the PAN / TAN entered.
  • If PAN/ TAN is valid the taxpayer will be allowed to fill up other challan details like accounting head under which payment is made, name and address of TAN and also select the bank through which payment is to be made, etc.
  • On submission of data entered a confirmation screen will be displayed. If the taxpayer confirms the data entered in the challan, it will be directed to the net-banking site of the bank.
  • The taxpayer will login to the net-banking site with the user id/ password provided by the bank for net-banking purpose and enter payment details at the bank site.
  • On successful payment a challan counterfoil will be displayed containing CIN, payment details and bank name through which e-payment has been made. This counterfoil is proof of payment being made.

To avail of this facility the taxpayer is required to have a net-banking account with any of the banks listed below, which are the only banks offering this facility at present.

  • Account Holders of
    1. Axis Bank
    2. State Bank of India
    3. Punjab National Bank
    4. Indian Overseas Bank
    5. Canara Bank
    6. Indian Bank
    7. Bank of India
    8. Corporation Bank
    9. State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
    10. State Bank of Travancore
    11. State Bank of Indore
    12. Vijaya Bank
    13. HDFC Bank
    14. Oriental Bank of Commerce
    15. State Bank of Patiala
    16. Bank of Baroda
    17. IDBI Bank
    18. State Bank of Mysore
    19. Bank of Maharashtra
    20. State Bank of Hyderabad
    21. Union Bank of India
    22. Allahabad Bank
    23. Dena Bank
    24. Syndicate Bank
    25. ICICI Bank
    26. United Bank of India
    27. UCO Bank
    28. Central Bank of India
    29. Andhra Bank
    30. Jammu & Kashmir Bank

No comments: